Parks Victoria works in partnership with Four Wheel Drive Victoria to ensure tracks are available for visitors to safely access remote locations in our parks through the year.  To ensure tracks are available during the warmer months of the year, many roads and tracks are seasonally closed to vehicles to prevent damage to the tracks and to maintain water quality in sensitive environments during the wetter months.

While a few tracks close in early May through to late November, most Seasonal Road Closures are implemented following the Kings Birthday long weekend in June and re-open before Melbourne Cup Weekend in November, but may be extended if conditions are not suitable to safely re-open.

2024 seasonal road closures

See the list of 2024 winter season closures (PDF) for reference. The seasonally closed tracks are also displayed on DEECA's interactive Public Access map.

Due to severe weather events, some roads and tracks have remained closed for visitor safety and to protect the environment.

Follow our safety tips and check our changed conditions and closures information for a great visit, including the individual park page for where you want to visit before leaving home. 

By using our site you accept that we use and share cookies and similar technologies with certain approved third parties. These tools enable us to improve your website experience and to provide content and ads tailored to your interests. By continuing to use our site you consent to this. Please see our Privacy Policy for more information.