Co-operative management is a partnership between Traditional Owners and the Victorian Government that provide a means for Traditional Owners to participate in the management of parks and reserves on their Country.

In some cases, co-operative management agreements are an outcome of native title consent determination processes. They are governed by Co-operative Management Agreements and overseen by Land Management Councils, which are set up as advisory bodies.

There are currently three Co-operative Management Agreements in place in Victoria.

Yorta Yorta Nation Aboriginal Corporation Co-operative Management Agreement, 2004

This agreement is between the State and the Yorta Yorta People, through Yorta Yorta Nation Aboriginal Corporation. The Agreement established the Yorta Yorta Joint Body to facilitate the participation of Yorta Yorta Traditional Owners in the management of the Agreement lands, which include:

  • Gemmill Swamp Wildlife Reserve
  • Goulburn River K49 Stream Side Reserve
  • Loch Gary Wildlife Reserve
  • Lower Goulburn National Park
  • Proposed Murray River Park (part)
  • Murray River Reserve

Wimmera Co-operative Management Agreement, 2005

This agreement is between the State and the Wotjobaluk, Jaadwa, Jadawadjali, Wergaia and Jupagalk Traditional Owners, with Barengi Gadjin Land Council Aboriginal Corporation as the representative body.

The agreement established the Winyula Council to advise the State on the management of those lands. The relationship is now maintained directly between Barengi Gadjin Land Council Aboriginal Corporation and Parks Victoria. Co-managed lands under this agreement include:

  • Lake Albacutya Park
  • Lake Hindmarsh Lake Reserve
  • Little Desert National Park (part)
  • Mount Arapiles-Tooan State Park
  • Wimmera River Heritage Area Park
  • Wyperfeld National Park

Gunditjmara Co-operative Management Agreement, 2007

This agreement is between the State and the Gunditj Mirring Traditional Owners Aboriginal Corporation, on behalf of the Gunditjmara Peoples.

This Co-operative Management Agreement applies to Budj Bim National Park, which was recognised under a native title consent determination, and established the Budj Bim Council to advise the State on management of the Agreement Area.

Budj Bim National Park is part of the broader Budj Bim cultural landscape, which is recognised for its outstanding cultural values as a UNESCO World Heritage Area. This film, World Heritage: One Year On, recognises the efforts of so many who made the journey possible.

By using our site you accept that we use and share cookies and similar technologies with certain approved third parties. These tools enable us to improve your website experience and to provide content and ads tailored to your interests. By continuing to use our site you consent to this. Please see our Privacy Policy for more information.